Search information on this website by using terms such as ‘vising times at Rotherham Hospital’ or ‘health visiting services in Rotherham.’

Using more general terms may bring up results from outside of Rotherham health services.

Due to COVID-19 coronavirus, we are having to make temporary changes to our services. Click here to find out more Temporary Changes


#TRFTProud of our 2020 shortlist

16 Oct 2020 16:13:54
Proud Awards 2020 logo

Colleagues across The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust are celebrating after the shortlist for the 2020 Proud Awards has been announced.

More than 400 nominations, including 45 from members of the public, were received for the Trust’s annual awards, which recognise the hard work and dedication of teams and individuals in clinical and non-clinical roles.

Colleagues from across the Trust met virtually last month to go through each nomination and narrow each category down to a shortlist. Those shortlisted now progress through to the awards ceremony which is being held virtually on Friday 27 November.

Dr Richard Jenkins, Chief Executive of The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust, said: “This year has been difficult for everyone, but despite the challenges thrown at them, our staff have continued to provide their services and having a positive impact on patient care, whether directly or indirectly. It is as important as ever that we take time to recognise the efforts of our staff.

“We received a fantastic response to this year’s nominations and every single nominee should feel proud of what they have achieved. I am looking forward to seeing the winners of each category revealed at our virtual award ceremony and wish everyone the best of luck.”

The annual ceremony is usually a night to remember with around 350 attendees. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, this year’s ceremony will be streamed live via the Trust’s YouTube channel from 7.30pm on Friday 27 November, but promises to be just as entertaining with interactive segments and entertainment lined up.

Members of the public can get involved too by emailing short video clips of them either clapping or sending good luck messages. Clips can be sent to

The full shortlist of nominees:

Governor’s Award for Outstanding Colleagues

  • Adult Community Nursing Team

  • Ann Kerrane - Infection Prevention and Control

  • Fiona Hendry - Palliative Care

  • Mark Smith - Critical Care

  • Patient Property and Communication Team

Public Recognition Award

  • Jennifer Turedi - Learning Disabilities

  • Macmillan Cancer Information and Support

  • Midwifery Team

  • Theatres Team

Safe and Sound Award

  • A1 Deputy Ward Managers and Clinical Sisters

  • Health Cares Complex Care Team – Family Health

  • Integrated Sexual Health - Family Health

  • Maria Rehnstrom - Critical Care

Inspiring Leader Award

  • Katy Shuker - Anaesthetics

  • Sally Hooper - Medicine

  • Sarah Newbold - Staff Engagement and Wellbeing

  • Stephen Poku - Family Health

  • Talhat Mughal - Chaplaincy

Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • Damian Staples - Communications

  • Felix Williams - Medical Workforce Recruitment

  • Jennifer Turedi - Learning Disabilities

  • Tony Bennett - Estates and Facilities

Apprentice of the Year

  • Colette Ashforth - Therapy Services

  • Daniella Longden - Greenoaks

  • Jane Law - Community Occupational Therapy

  • Samantha Horton – Medicine

  • Wendy Jarvis - Family Health

Innovation and Improvement Award

  • Amy Mills - HR Systems

  • Diabetes Specialist Dietitians Team - Nutrition and Dietetics

  • Kristy Barnfield - Continence

  • Speech and Language Therapy (Adults and Children inc. Catherine O’Sullivan, Rachel Radford and Rebekah Davies)

  • Stephen Lightfoot - Health Informatics

Unsung Hero Award

  • Damian Staples - Communications

  • Denise Green - UECC

  • Linda Morris - Pharmacy

  • Mortuary Staff and Kim Marsh

  • Paul Ralston - Procurement

Outstanding Volunteer

  • Hannah Hall

  • Lynda Paviour

  • Macmillan Cancer Information and Support volunteers

  • Patient Communication and Property Facilitators

Team of the Year

  • Critical Care (ITU/HDU) and Anaesthetics

  • Domestics

  • Infection Prevention and Control

  • Microbiology

  • Procurement

  • Ward B5

Values Award

  • Kirsty Donovan - Nutrition and Dietetics

  • Louise Parry - Theatres

  • Orthopaedic Inpatient and Therapy Team

  • Rebecca Reynolds - District Nursing

  • Ward A2 - Medicine