Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Equality is about creating a fairer society where everyone has the opportunity to fulfil their potential. Diversity is about recognising and valuing difference in its broadest sense. Inclusion is about an individual's experience within the workplace and in wider society and the extent to which they feel valued and included.

Our commitment to Equality and Diversity

The Trust commits to:

  • Promote equality, fairness and respect for all in our employment, whether temporary, part-time or full-time, as well as for volunteers and potential job applicants
  • Prevent discrimination on the grounds of the Equality Act 2010 protected characteristics of age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race (including colour, nationality and ethnic or national origin), religion or belief, sex (gender) and sexual orientation
  • Oppose and avoid all forms of unlawful discrimination. This includes in pay and benefits, terms and conditions of employment, dealing with grievances and discipline, dismissal, redundancy, leave for parents, requests for flexible working, and selection for employment, promotion, training or other development opportunities
  • Create a working environment free of bullying, harassment, victimisation and unlawful discrimination, promoting dignity and respect for all, and where individual differences and the contributions of all colleagues are recognised and valued
  • Make opportunities for training, development and progress available to all colleagues, who will be helped and encouraged to develop their full potential, so their talents and resources can be fully utilised to maximise the efficiency of the Trust's decisions concerning colleagues being based on merit (apart from in any necessary and limited exemptions and exceptions allowed under the Equality Act)

Equality Delivery System (EDS)

The Equality Delivery System is a nine step process to support commissioners and providers to deliver better outcomes for patients and communities and better working environments for staff, which are personal, fair and diverse. It was designed by the NHS for the NHS to improve services and delivery and embed equality practices into everyday NHS business.

At the heart of the EDS is a set of 18 outcomes grouped into four goals. The goals are:

  • Better health outcomes for all
  • Improved patient access and experience
  • Empowered, engaged and included staff
  • Inclusive leadership at all levels

Within each goal there are a set of outcomes which the Trust will be graded against by various community groups in Rotherham. Over the next four months we will be meeting with local community groups, staff and patients to gather information and feedback around their experience of using our services. This data will be used to determine the Trust grading in line with the EDS standards and we will then produce an action plan based on the result of this grading. The EDS grading system will be critical in supporting the organisation to gauge its current position and the continuous progress we need to make in order to embed equality into the mainstream business.

The grades are:

  • Excelling – Purple
  • Achieving – Green
  • Developing – Amber
  • Underdeveloped - Red

What does EDS cover?

The EDS covers all those people with characteristics protected by the Equality Act 2010. There are nine characteristics in total:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender re-assignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race including nationality and ethnicity
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

Did this information help you?

  • Page last reviewed: 23 January 2023
  • Next review due: 23 January 2024