Governor elections

Members of the Trust are elected by their fellow Members to sit on the Council of Governors. The Council of Governors is made up of patients, public, staff and partner representatives.

  • There are sixteen Public Governors elected by Members of the Trust.

  • There are five Staff Governors elected by staff at the Trust.

  • There are seven Governors who are nominated from partner organisations. One of these Governors must be a representative from the Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council. The remaining six are not statutory and come from a range of organisations.

Governors normally serve for a term of three years and can stand for re-election at the end of the period. We provide training and support for the role.

To be able to stand as a Governor, you need to be registered as a Member of the Trust

The public constituency

Map highlighting the Rotherham boundary


There are two public constituencies.

Rotherham-wide covers all areas within the Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council (RMBC) boundary.

The Rest of England covers all areas outside of the RMBC boundary.  

Did this information help you?

  • Page last reviewed: 2 May 2024
  • Next review due: 2 May 2025