Celebrating our Proud Award winners 2023

There was cause for celebration last week at The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust’s annual Proud Awards.

Winners of the 2023 Proud Awards

On Friday 9 June, over 450 colleagues came together to celebrate each other’s achievements and honour those who go above and beyond to help deliver outstanding patient care. 

The evening was also a chance to recognise colleagues’ long service, with a special presentation for those who have reached the 40 year milestone! 

Keepmoat were the headline sponsors for this year’s event and their generosity helped staff celebrate in style. The awards were hosted by Liesl Soards from Hallam FM’s Breakfast Show and Magna provided the perfect setting for the celebrations. 

There was a very special addition to the awards this year to mark the NHS’ 75th birthday. The NHS 75 Award for Outstanding Contribution to the NHS recognised a very special colleague who has dedicated nearly five decades to caring for the people of Rotherham. Dr Bijoy Mondal was a very worthy winner and his friend and colleague, Haley Read, was happy to honour him on the evening. Haley said: “Dr Mondal has dedicated both his professional and personal time, often going over and above his appointed role to enhance and improve healthcare to the residents of Rotherham. His approach has been multi-dimensional applying his highly attained skills, knowledge, professionalism, fund raising abilities, and time to provide new innovative and up to date care approaches across the hospital and community setting. To say that Dr Mondal is an institution in this area would be an understatement.”

Michael Wright, Deputy Chief Executive at The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust, said: “The Proud Awards are a real highlight in our calendar and it’s an honour to be able to recognise our teams and colleagues for their efforts throughout the year.

“I would like to thank everybody who helped organise such a successful evening, particularly our sponsors Keepmoat, Bauer Media Audio, Softcat, Teal and Meadowhall.”

Bauer Media Audio, home of Hallam FM and Greatest Hits Radio, sponsored the Public Recognition category, an award which comes directly from public nominations. Their help meant there were more nominations than ever for that category.

It wasn’t just the Public Recognition category that saw a surge in popularity, there were over 700 nominations in total, breaking the Trust’s record by a long way! 

The Trust would like to thank everybody who took the time to write a nomination and send a heartfelt congratulations to the winners! 

2023 Proud Award winners

Chairman’s Award

Lynsey Maton

Chief Executive’s Award

Amy Mills

NHS75 Award for outstanding contribution to the NHS

Dr Bijoy Mondal

Public Recognition – in partnership with Bauer Media Audio

Stroke Therapy Team

Non-Clinical Team of the Year

Sterile Services

Inspiring Leader

Tom Nield

Diversity and Inclusion

Day Surgery Bespoke Elective Pathway

Learner of the Year

Benjamin Proctor

Quality Improvement

Care Homes Team Occupational Therapists

Unsung Hero

Julie Foster

Clinical Team of the Year 

Ward A1

Governors’ Award for Living the Values

Hannah Hall

Outstanding Volunteer

Diane Schofield

Excellence Award
Team of the Year

Emergency Preparedness, Resilience & Response

Excellence Award
Individual of the Year

Munazza Shah

Excellence Award
Public Excellence