Celebrating Rotherham’s “extraordinary” healthcare heroes

The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust’s annual Proud Awards were held last month, celebrating the achievements of its staff and the impact they have on the people of Rotherham.

Winners of the 2024 Proud Awards holding their certificates and trophies

On Friday 14 June, almost 500 colleagues came together to celebrate each other’s achievements and honour those who go above and beyond to help deliver outstanding patient care.

The evening also provided the opportunity to formally recognise colleagues’ long service, with a special presentation for those who have worked for the NHS for 40 years.

759 nominations were received for the 2024 awards, with 274 for the Public Recognition Award alone. This category provides patients, family, friends, carers and members of the public to put forward a person or team that has had a real impact on them. 

The recipients of the 2024 Public Recognition Award were the Dermatology team, with a special mention for Nurse Consultant Tara Lees. While presenting the award, Hannah Watson, Non-Executive Director, read out some of the nominations received for the team. One read: “Thanks to them, and the treatment and care they have given me, they have helped to change my life for the better.”

Attendees also heard the real experience of a patient who has received care from a number of teams, including orthopaedic and cancer care. He shared his experiences and praise of the staff he had encountered, calling them “extraordinary people”.

Dr Richard Jenkins, Chief Executive of The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust, said: “The Proud Awards are the highlight in our calendar. It is a great privilege to be able to recognise our colleagues for their hard work and excellent care they provide to our patients throughout the year. It’s also important that we recognise our non-clinical colleagues too, without whom we wouldn’t be able to provide our services.”

Keepmoat were the headline sponsors for the second year, alongside fellow sponsors Hits Radio, Knowles Fleet and Assutt. Their kind generosity helped staff to celebrate in style.

2024 Proud Award winners

Chairman’s Award

Clinical Haematology

Chief Executive’s Award

Laura Mumby, Health Informatics

Public Recognition – Sponsored by Hits Radio

Dermatology team and Tara Lees

Non-Clinical Team of the Year

Orthopaedic Operational Team and Schedulers

Inspiring Leader – Sponsored by Knowles Fleet

Chris Hammond-Race, Audiology

Diversity and Inclusion

Sri Kakarlapudi, Dietetics

Learner of the Year

Billy Ferguson, Procurement

Quality Improvement

Andy Woods, Children's and Young People's Services

Unsung Hero

Billy Bell, Security

Clinical Team of the Year – Sponsored by Assutt

Virtual Ward / Urgent Community Response

Governors’ Award for Living the Values

Danijela Preradovic, Ward A1

Volunteer of the Year

B5 volunteers

Excellence Award – Sponsored by Keepmoat
Team of the Year

Education and Development Team

Excellence Award – Sponsored by Keepmoat
Individual of the Year

Lucy Richardson

Excellence Award – Sponsored by Keepmoat
Public Excellence