The Blood Sciences department incorporates the Haematology, Immunology and Chemical Pathology laboratories. It provides a comprehensive routine and emergency out-of-hours diagnostic Blood Sciences service.

The Haematology Department’s main test is the Full Blood Count (FBC) whereby normal and abnormal cell populations are enumerated to assist in the diagnosis and monitoring of certain disorders. They also perform a screen for some inflammatory conditions and for Glandular Fever. Plasma is tested for a range of coagulation tests associated with bleeding or thrombosis or to monitor patients taking anticoagulants (e.g. warfarin). More specialised testing is used to look for rarer conditions such as Sickle cell or Thalassaemia and to monitor patients treated for HIV infection. Most testing uses complex automated equipment, although some manual testing takes place to look for certain cell types such as Malaria.

The Blood Bank/Haematology Biomedical Scientist on-call can be contacted via telephone number 01709 424236 or the hospital switchboard 01709 820000.

The Consultant Haematologists are available via the hospital switchboard 01709 820000 and radio pagers – ask for the clinical haematologist on-call. The Haematologists are available 24/7 to offer clinical advice and interpretation of results. 


A level, junction 2
Rotherham Hospital
Moorgate Road
S60 2UD

01709 424236

Opening times

Monday to Friday, 9am to 5.30pm
Saturday, 9am to 1pm
All other times (including Bank Holidays), out of hours service


Clinical Staff

Consultant Haematologist and Head of Department: 01709 424188
Consultant Haematologist: 01709 427419
Consultant Haematologist: 01709 427314

Clerical Staff

Secretaries can be contacted on: 01709 427119

Scientific and technical staff

Integrated Blood Sciences Manager: 01709 427621
Lead BMS and Deputy Blood Sciences Manager Haematology: 01709 424236

Haematology user handbook

The content of this page was last updated: Tuesday 4 June 2024.

Did this information help you?

  • Page last reviewed: 6 June 2024
  • Next review due: 6 June 2025