How does Patient Hub work?
introduce this across all departments over the next few months (starting in
February 2022), patients with upcoming appointments will receive a text or
email notification inviting them to link to the portal. If this link is not
used and the letter not accessed within 48 hours, a paper copy will be sent by
All you have to do is to ensure your hospital records have an
up-to-date mobile phone number or
Do I need to create a Patient Hub account?
No, we will create the account as soon as an appointment is
booked for you. You only need to access it when you need to see your
Please make sure we have your up-to-date mobile number or email address by contacting the Contact
Centre on 01709 307555.
Why am I being offered this new appointment reminder service?
The Trust is offering more communication choice to patients
and working hard to increase efficiency and sustainability. By improving our
communication with you, you will have all your appointments in one place which
makes it less likely to miss one. This will avoid unnecessary printing and
How do I access to my account?
You will be sent a link by
text message or email. You can click on the link in the text message / email or
use this Patient Hub link to access your account.
on the link
If you have trouble accessing the site, please check your internet access and make
sure you are using one of the below compatible web browsers:
will be taken to the login page.
will be asked to enter either your mobile number or email address, together
with your date of birth. Please enter your date of birth in the following
will then be sent a 6-digit authentication code by SMS, or by email if we don’t
have your mobile number.
the 6-digit code. Please be aware the authentication code will expire in 2
minutes 30 seconds.
the time limit expires a new code is required. If the time limit has expired or
the code is entered incorrectly the following error message will display: Code Verification
How do I get into Patient Hub at another time?
You can use the link in the text message, the link in the
appointment if you added it to your diary, or this Patient Hub link to access your appointment information
at any time.
What information will I get from Patient Hub?
Patient Hub allows you to view all your appointments,
letters, and messages in one convenient location, giving you the ability to
confirm, rebook or cancel your appointments. It will provide everything you
would normally receive in the post.
Do I need to download the Patient Hub as an app?
No, there is no need to download anything. You will be sent a
link in the first appointment notification. Patient Hub is a web page that you
can access at any time. For easy future access, you may want to save this Patient Hub link as a favourite.
Each time you sign in, you will be sent a new 6-digit security code. There is
no need to remember a username and password.
Is the link always the same?
Yes, the link to your account will stay the same. Every time
you are notified about an appointment, you will get a reminder of the link. If
you want to go back into your Patient Hub, just use that link. Or, for easy
future access, save the link as a favourite.
Can I only use the link they send me in the text message or email to access
No, you can also use the Patient Hub link here.
What authentication does Patient Hub use?
Patient Hub uses two-factor authentication. You begin the
login process by giving us some personal information known to you – your mobile
number or email address and your date of birth. To complete the log in process,
you will be sent a 6-digit security code by text message, or by email. This
code can only be used once. The next time you log in, you will get a new
6-digit code. The code is only valid for 2 minutes 30 seconds.
Do I need to remember a username and password?
No, you do not have a username or password.
Do I need to securely log in each time I access Patient Hub?
Yes, it is important to keep your data secure.
Is this service secure?
Yes, the service is designed with security in mind. The text
message or email regarding your appointment will be sent to you by the Trust.
Once you click on the link, you will be asked for two forms of identity, to
check it really is you. This will be either your mobile number or email address
and your date of birth. This information, coupled with a 6-digit authentication
code, forms the secure two-factor authentication.
How will I get my appointment information?
You will be sent a link via text message or email. When you
click through to Patient Hub, you’ll see the appointment tab on the first page.
Click on ‘Appointments’ to see information on your current appointments and
their status. From here, you can accept, rebook or cancel your appointments.
Can I change my appointment?
Yes, you can either accept, rebook or cancel your
appointment. If you have accepted an appointment, you can go back in and
request to rebook or cancel the appointment at a later date.
Can it help me with a diary reminder?
Yes, click on the diary button to insert a reminder into your
smart phone or computer calendar.
Do I need to enrol to get this service?
No, so long as the Trust has your up to date mobile number or
email address, you will be sent a text message or email. You’ll be able to choose
how you are contacted (either via text message and/or email) so it is important
that you make sure that we have your correct contact details.
How long do I have to respond to the text message or email?
The link to your Patient Hub can be accessed at any time.
When you log in you will be sent a secure authentication message to complete
your log in. This secure code only lasts for 2 minutes 30 seconds.
What happens if I don’t respond to the text message link or authentication
If you don’t respond to the text message link within the
given time, your appointment letter will be posted to you.
When do I receive an SMS notification?
appointment is booked or cancelled on the Trust’s patient administration
system, you will receive a notification within 24 hours.
on whether you login and accept your appointment or not, you may receive up to three
notification invitations to login and accept your appointment, read your letter
and other information.
notifications are sent on consecutive days.
you log in after the initial notification, the system will stop sending you any
further notifications for the appointment.
- Please log in within this time frame, accept your appointment and view
your letter. This will help to avoid the Trust sending out a letter to you in
How do I access Patient Hub if I have accidentally deleted the text message
from my phone?
You can use this link to access Patient
I clicked on ‘rebook’, but I haven’t had a call back yet
The Contact Centre team will call you as soon as they have
availability. The team work Monday to Friday, 8am to 6pm.
I cancelled my appointment using Patient Hub. How do I know it has been
You will receive call back from the booking team confirming
What if I don’t have a smart phone? Or a computer?
The initial link needs either a smart phone, tablet or a
computer. If you don’t have a smart phone, you can receive the link and
authentication code in an email. If you don’t have a smart phone or computer,
don’t worry, you will continue to receive your appointment details by letter in
the post, together with all the other information.
What happens if I want to opt out, or still want to receive a letter in the
You can access the link to opt out of future communications
on Patient Hub or contact the Contact Centre on 01709 307555 who can do this
What happens if I cannot access my appointment information?
You can contact the Contact Centre on 01709 307555 and ask
for the information.
Will all my appointment letters be sent using Patient Hub, including for
Yes, once this has
been fully implemented across all departments, all letters and other extra
information will be sent via Patient Hub. You can read them as often as you
What if I have more than one appointment?
You will be able to see all your appointments in Patient Hub.
You can manage (accept, cancel or rebook) each appointment individually.
Can I look back at previous appointments?
Yes, your previous appointment data is securely held in your